Clarkesville Main Street

Mary Beth Horton, Director

CLARKESVILLE Main Street is a community-based, self-help program designed to develop and maintain our city's economic health and quality of life. It is grounded in the principles of historic preservation and the National Main Street Center's four-point approach to downtown revitalization: Organization, Design, Business Development and Promotion. Through the work of our committees formed under each of these four areas of focus, Clarkesville Main Streets sponsors events and activities that improve the image of downtown, raise its profile and increase the economic opportunities available to our merchants, professionals and landlords.

The Main Street public-private partnership model has been implemented in more than 1,800 cities and towns in 44 states, and is aided by the Georgia Department of Community Affairs Office of Downtown Development.


Junior Main Street Board

Junior Main Street is a component of Clarkesville Main Street and has been formed to assist students in achieving community service credits while learning valuable skills in the areas of event planning, marketing, project management, and teamwork. You will learn how to make decisions as a group, choose a project that will fit with the mission of the Clarkesville Main Street program and develop a plan to accomplish the goals of the project!


Downtown Development Authority

The purpose of the Downtown Development Authority and Main Street Program is to stimulate and sustain economic development in Downtown Clarkesville by encouraging cooperation and building leadership; by advancing a positive image of downtown and promoting it as an exciting place to live, shop, and invest; by sustaining and improving the appearance of downtown; and by strengthening and expanding the economic base of downtown.

The DDA meets on the 3rd Thursday each month at 5PM at Clarkesville City Hall.

The Clarkesville DDA Chairman is Joey Duncan. DDA Board members include: Mike Callahan, Roger Morris, Gabe Hotard, Franklin Brown and Dan Barry.


L-R(top):Roxie Barron, Teresa Barry, Claudia Lyle, Janet Taylor, Mary Beth Horton (Manager), Katie Ledford, (bottom) Barrie Aycock, Joey Duncan, Deb Kilgore (Chair), Wally Wenn, (not pictured) Jeff Johnson



L-R: Mary Beth Horton, Bruce Lewallen (Council), Tina Evans (Council), Mayor Barrie Aycock, Bailee Blackwood, Lanae Ramos, Cody Reynolds, Franklin Brown (Council), Kaylee Baker, Leigh Johnston (Council) and Deborah Kilgore (Main Street Chairperson).
Not pictured: Madison Moore, Adam Standridge, Ashley Kemp, Erin Byers, Miles Lewis.

Mary Beth Horton is the program manager for Clarkesville Main Street - an organization dedicated to promoting Clarkesville, attracting new businesses to downtown Clarkesville, and providing support to existing businesses. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Marketing/Public Relations from the University of Georgia.

E-Verify: City of Clarkesville Participates in the E-Verify Program as required by Georgia State Law (O.C.G.A. Section 13-10-91). The City of Clarkesville's identification number is 99919 and date of authorization was February 13, 2008.

Online Utility Bill Pay will be available in February.

We apologize for any inconveniece this may cause as we work to include this feature into our new site. Please check back in February.

Sign Up now.